Wednesday, April 2, 2008

Watch Deron Dunk

I can't remember the exact game, but ESPN's Jimmy Dykes predicted Deron Washington to win the college dunk contest during Championship Week. Well, Thurday Deron gets the chance to make Dykes look like a savant.

Deron is one of eight participants in the dunk portion of the 20th annual State Farm College Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships. Hokie fans have seen what Deron can do in transition and with ally-oops during his four years in Blacksburg. Now he gets to show off his vertical and creativity to the entire nation.

Looking over his competition, I think Deron is the clear favorite. J.R. Giddens of New Mexico (and OKC's John Marshall High School) will probably be his toughest challenge he's another athletic, slasher-type who can leap. James Gist of Maryland is another guy who could excel in the dunk contest. However, a lot of the participants are post players. They're known more for powerful in-game dunks than contest-style dunks.

Also, I'm shocked to see Memphis' Joey Dorsey in the field. Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't he play in the Final Four on Saturday? Why on earth would Coach Cal give him the opportunity to hurt himself in a dunking exhibition two days before the school's first Final Four since 1985?

I'll be getting the popcorn ready to watch Deron fly Thursday. Can't wait to see what he's got in store. Hopefully he'll break out this little number...

Game Guide
Who: Deron Washington vs. The Field
What: College Slam Dunk Contest
When: 9 p.m. EDT April 3, ESPN
Where: Greehey Arena, St. Mary's University - San Antonio, Texas
Why Deron Wins: Because no other player has produced more YouTubery in the last four years
Why The Field Wins: One of them does some over-the-top shennanigans to celebrate a lame dunk and therefore gets a bunch of 10s like Wesley Duke from Mercer two years ago or David Noel last year
Dot-Dot-Dots: The other participants are James Gist (Maryland), J.R. Giddens (New Mexico), Patrick Ewing, Jr. (Georgetown), Brian Randle (Illinois), Joey Dorsey (Memphis - WTF?), Will Bullard (TAMU-Corpus Christi) and Sonny Weems (Arkansas).

Update: Dorsey will not be participating tonight. He will be replaced by Augusta State's A.J. Bowen according to a release.

No comments: